16 July, 2007 by admin.
STL: Foess Replaces Smith as Cards Skipper

The Cardinals announced today that Ozzie Smith has been released from his position as manager of the St Louis Cardinals. Replacing him will be former Cardinals great Edward Foess.

Smith spent 10 full season as the Cardinals skipper, compiling a record of 748-872. The Cardinals captured 3 NL North crowns during his tenure, but have not been close to competing for the title since the 2026 season. The last two seasons were 100+ loss campaigns, including a disasterous 39-123 season in 2030. Smith will remain with the organization and has accepted a position in the front office.

Foess spent 11 years with the Cardinals organization. After being select with the number 1 overall pick in 2013, he got his callup in 2015 and eventually played 1500+ games for the Cardinals. From 2015 to 2025, he hit 312 HR and 994 RBI before signing as a free agent with Minnesota in 2026. He played for another four seasons with Minnesota, Cincinnati and Los Angeles before retiring at the end of the 2029 season. Foess spent the last two season managing the Cardinals minor league AAA affiliate in Memphis.

The new manager inherits a team in transition. Only two players, Leo Bonilla and Javier Montanez remain from that 2026 team. The organization has made a clear attempt to improve through it's minors system, and seems on the verge of making that happen.

First overall draft pick from last season's draft Titus Comer seems ready to take on the role as staff ace alongside last season's RFA pickup Moises Ellison. The offense will likely be bolstered by top prospects Chad Davenport and Scott Ingram. Whether Ingram and Davenport will be on the 25 man roster on Opening Day remains to be seen, but it is likely they will be part of the team at some point in the 2032 season.

With the fourth pick in the 2032 draft, the Cardinals selected highly touted prospect SS - Jack McClay. He figures to be part of the major league picture soon. The Cardinals also figure to be fairly active in the RFA and Free Agent frenzy as well.

It is clear that the 2032 version of the Cardinals will be very different from the 2031 version. With a new skipper and a new outlook, who knows what will be in store for Cardinals fans!

Current Champion

Manager: Joe Lalley
Past Champions (SIM)
Yr Team Record
30 New York Mets 99-63
29 Chicago White Sox 91-71
28 Pittsburgh Pirates 114-48
27 Orlando Generals 106-56
26 Pittsburgh Pirates 122-40
25 Pittsburgh Pirates 110-52
24 Pittsburgh Pirates 106-56
23 Arizona Diamondbacks 94-68
22 Washington Senators 97-65
21 Atlanta Braves 94-68
20 Mexico City Red Devils 94-68
19 Las Vegas Outlaws 98-64
18 Pittsburgh Pirates 107-55
17 Los Angeles Dodgers 91-71
16 Canada Blue Jays 91-71
15 Boston Red Sox 105-57
14 Chicago Cubs 116-46
13 Chicago Cubs 104-58
12 Oakland A's 92-70
[ Click for awards history ]

Jim Thome Awards
American League

Andy Compton
(2B)Seattle Mariners

A season for the ages earned Seattle's second baseman Andy Compton the American League Jim Thome Award this year. Compton has hit 46 homeruns this year while batting .332. He adds 52 doubles, along with 146 runs scored. He's 8th in the American League in batting, 1st in homeruns and 1st in RBI! Compton wins the award for the 2nd time in his 7-year career.

National League

Eduardo Zamora
(2B) New York Mets

It was a day to remember for New York (N)'s Eduardo Zamora, who won the National League Jim Thome Award today. It put the finishing touches on what has been a tremendous season for the slugger. He has hit 47 longballs while batting .374 this season. His 224 hits and 67 walks add up to a .442 on-base percentage. He's 1st in the National League in batting, 6th in homeruns and 1st in RBI! Zamora wins the award for the 3rd time in his 5-year career.

Cy Young Awards
American League

Joey Flores
(SP) Chicago Whitesox

Chicago (A)'s lefty Joey Flores was untouchable all year long. His work paid off today as the American League named him the Cy Young Award winner! His ERA of 2.28 helped him to a 26-4 record this year. He struck out 223 and walked 31 in 268 innings. Joey has pitched 2 shutouts and 3 complete games. He's 1st in the American League in ERA and 1st in wins! Flores wins the award for the 3rd time in his 7-year career.

National League

Reid Daves
(SP) Chicago Cubs

All the hard work finally paid off for Chicago (N)'s Reid Daves as well. The southpaw was named the Cy Young Award winner in the National League today. His ERA of 2.68 helped him to a 19-8 record this year. He struck out 164 and walked 88 in 215 innings. He's 4th in the National League in ERA and 2nd in wins!

Rookie of the Year Awards
American League

Ali Hepp
(LF) Milwaukee Brewers

Ali Hepp will never forget his first full season. The American League was convinced that Milwaukee's leftfielder, 26 years old, should be the Rookie of the Year winner of 2031. Hepp has hit 20 taters this year while batting .299. He adds 35 doubles, along with 97 runs scored.

National League

Timothy Ware
(3B) Cincinnati Reds

The National League Rookie of the Year winner was announced today as well, with Cincinnati's third baseman Timothy Ware earning the trophy for putting up the best numbers among rookies in his league. Timothy is hitting .292 this year, with 171 hits in 586 at bats. He has driven in 56 runs, slugging .408.

ERROR: Cannot find database ngblforumsInvision Power Board Database Error  

There appears to be an error with the NexGenBaseball database.
You can try to refresh the page by clicking here, if this does not fix the error, you can contact the board administrator by clicking here

Error Returned

We apologise for any inconvenience